Posted by: turtles06 | September 18, 2012

“Lost Antarctica”

I don’t listen to the radio much, so I was quite happy to get a text from a friend this morning letting me know that Antarctica was being discussed on NPR.   I went right to the live broadcast via my computer.  It turns out that marine biologist and Antarctic expert James McClintock was being interviewed on The Diane Rehm show by guest host Steve Roberts.  McClintock, who has been to Antarctica 14 times, has just published a new book, Lost Antarctica: Adventures in a Disappearing Land,  and I was so hooked on his discussion with Roberts that I ordered a copy of the book on line as I  listened.

Among other things, McClintock talked about the effects of global warming on the Antarctic Peninsula.  Since this is the part of the Continent we’ll be visiting, my ears were glued to my speakers for what was a riveting account of Gentoo and Chinstrap penguins moving south from their sub-Antarctic habit to the Peninsula, where it used to be too cold for them.  Sadly, on the flip side, Adelie penguins, Peninsula natives, are simply disappearing; they depend on sea ice  for their survival, and the ice around the Peninsula is receding.  McClintock discussed many more changes as well.

I’m looking forward to reading this book as we count down now to our trip, only four months away!

 

 


Responses

  1. Reading books about Antarctica was half the fun of the whole adventure. Wish we had plans for Antarctica in the near future, but “new-to-us” places keep pushing it down on the list 🙂

    • Thanks Erin. I got bogged down in Ferocious Summer after all the accounts of the researchers making penguins vomit up their meals. And, just in general, I did not find the writing that compelling. I’m in the midst of The Crystal Desert, and quite frankly I’m hoping Lost in Antarctica is a good read. McClintock was great on the radio; I hope his writing lives up to the discussion.

  2. […] month, I posted that I was so taken by McClintock’s discussion of his book during an interview on NPR that I […]


Leave a comment

Categories