Posted by: turtles06 | September 23, 2012

GEARing Up

It’s only four months now until our journey to Antarctica (!), time to start getting serious about the remaining items on our packing list.  We already have an assortment of gloves and hats and fleece tops, and I know we shouldn’t have any trouble getting socks or long johns and the like.  And we took care of the most critical item on the gear list, Muck Boots, months ago.

However, I”ve been worried for a while about finding what is probably the second most critical item –breathable, waterproof pants –because I’m not that easy to fit. I’m short, but I don’t exactly conform to most clothing manufacturers’ definition of “petite,” if you get my drift.  If the length is good, odds are that the waist won’t be.  And so I had a bit of a meltdown last week in my search for “waterproof pants,” coming up short (so to speak) in my initial forays.

Well, as she so often does, MP saved the day.  Turning into my personal internet shopper, she searched for waterproof snowpants, and found a terrific insulated pair at L.L. Bean.  (L.L. Bean!  Duh!  Why didn’t I think of that?)

Looking at Bean’s sizing chart, I really couldn’t be sure what would fit, so I ordered two different sizes.  The pants just came.  One pair is a little snug (but the length is great — with bare feet).  The other is just a little big and just a teeny bit long — with bare feet.  However, I just got out my Muck Boots, and the length is great once I have the boots on.  These will definitely work.  Whew!

The pants are quite comfortable and have excellent features, including zippered pockets, and of course zippers on the sides to accommodate boots. The layer of insulation is very soft , and the pants seem toasty; from what the good folks over on Cruise Critic have advised, I should not need more than a base layer of long johns under these.

MP just had a good laugh as I stomped around the house in Muck Boots and waterproof pants!

She said I look ready now!

Gear List: Waterproof Pants √


Responses

  1. One reason I am partial to Beans (beside the fact that we are neighbors in the summer time;-)) is that the shape of the clothing is real people sized. Not everyone who goes on adventures is an REI cover girl!


Leave a comment

Categories